Grandma with her crooked fingers

Grandma with her crooked fingers
Told me all her secrets
She could not speak, she could not hear
Her fingers spoke, her eyes heard all

Grandma with her crooked fingers
Told me to always walk straight
Crooked things she said are bad
Unless they’re crooked body parts

Grandma with her crooked fingers
Told me to always speak straight
Crooked words she said plant doubts
Unless they’re crooked with natural fault

Grandma with her crooked fingers
Told me to always work straight
Crooked ways she said dig graves
Unless they’re crooked by form

Grandma with her crooked fingers
Told me how to live a life-
With her crooked ways and crooked words;
In a not-so-crooked manner

~Moniba.

12 thoughts on “Grandma with her crooked fingers

  1. my grandma used to tell me bedtime stories, so many stories, and my little questions regarding the characters and situations for which she would gladly answer every time… she was almost 100yrs old when she left us but her stories and love will always remain with me…. you have written this beautifully Moniba,reading this just transported me back in time, kudos 🙂

  2. Reminds me of Ustad Vilayat Khan, an Indian musician who kept on playing single note for hours. When asked why he is not moving ahead, he simply replied, “since I got the Sur (right note), I don’t need to wiggle around.”

    You nicely played the entire poem with one keyword, yet poem looks flawless. Think you got the right note.

Leave a Reply

