I’ve been told to Shine On…

Recently, my friend White Pearl gave me an award; Shine On. I am thankful to her… And also proud of her. Shine on, white pearl. Shine on, bloggers. And hopefully, me too.

When I started blogging, I didn’t expect to get so caught up in it, nor did I expect real people to actually read what I’ve written. At first, I was quite excited by the concept of blogging. It was new to me. I guess it was new to the world at that time. I started writing on my blog “Grey Matter of a Defaced Teen”… About 5 years ago I guess. I wrote and wrote for a long while. Content with little to no readers. But it was an enjoyable experience. Then I went through a few changes, and when I looked at my blog after that, it seemed so immature and extremely meaningless to me. Me being me, I don’t like things without purpose. Everything has to have a purpose. If i’m blogging, I have a purpose, though it might not be quite obvious to the readers. If i’m reading, I have a purpose, and if i’m restraining myself from something, there always has to be a reason. I don’t believe in doing stuff just for the fun of it, or just because I feel like it. I used to, but not anymore. I try to give a valid purpose to everything I do. Life’s much better that way.

So I deleted that blog then. And didn’t continue blogging for a long while after that. I guess after I realized how meaningless it was, I let go of the concept, and of the belief that I could write. School ended after a while, and I started college. Some more life-changing moments came by to visit, and to stay. And I decided to pick up the pen (or the keyboard) again. That was when this blog came into existence. Looking at this blog, i’m not saying it’s good, or has great quality, but I see the change. I see a hint of maturity in what I write. I see purpose. And I like it.

So, Ms. White Pearl, I hope you see how much this award means to me.

As for the people I’d like to give this award to, some of them already have it, and some have just got it today along with myself. But hey, I’m nominating you again, since you’re the ones that I think deserve it.

1) Wild Innocence
2) Dareechay
3) Neurodrooling
4) Randomly Abstract
5) Portfolio Passions and Purple
6) My Un-Puzzled Heart
7) Tiny Toes
8) Post-it Happiness
9) The Writer in me
10) The Seeker

Happy(and Purposeful) Blogging, Everyone!

~Moniba.

 

34 thoughts on “I’ve been told to Shine On…

  1. Shine on Moniba!
    I liked the ‘Grey matter’ blog and I love this the same. For you have been my inspiration to blog, and forever you will remain! 🙂
    Thankyou for the encouragement. The award means a whole lot. Jazakillah.
    -Maria.

  2. Me too! I was a card-carrying member of Grey Matter of a Defaced Teen’s fan-club 😀 But this blog is even better Mashallah 😀
    THANKYOUUU for the award. Feeling truly honoured. 😀 ❤

  3. Well, Ms. Moniba. Well come back. Congratulations to you and thank you for the award. Just to let you know, I am a horder of awards and it might take some time to pass forward. Thank you again.

  4. اس ایوارڈ کی نامزدگی پر میں ٓپ کی تہہ دل سے مشکور ہوں۔ دعا کرتی ہوں کہ آپ بھی مانندشمع، چمکتی رہیں۔

  5. Aww Love the post ! We all are should shine on yaaay 😀
    I love your writing…..And you shouldn’t have deleted your blog….You know our writings show through what we went through that particular phase of our life….and it makes a beautiful memory. Memories are never purpose-less….I love this one of your blog and I am sure the deleted one would sure be lovable with all its meaninglessness according to you ! Yes I know how much this award means to you ! You deserve it Moniba…you are so good at what you do…really. Many many congrats 🙂

  6. Pingback: “Freshly” picked from my mind…. | theseeker

  7. Pingback: This Ping is for you! | theseeker

  8. You are a great thinker! MashaAllah!

    I really like your point about how there should always be a purpose….that is one thing I very much my blog to have ( If and when it comes into existence(
    SHINE ON 😀 You deserve this award and lot more.

    • Alhamdulillah. And you should make one very soon ❤ and think of what you want to do with it. Sometimes I feel I'm losing purpose. You'll see that in the recent posts. Pray:)

      • Alhamdulillah. In sha Allah I will make one. Yes,what I want to do with!
        Is there only one purpose? I like most of your post! 😀

        I think your recent posts are more of descriptive than the previous posts which were thought proving,right? But the way you describe is simply beautiful ❤ and it makes the reader want to notice more.
        Keep writing! Oh and sorry if I post so many comments,I blabber alot. 😛

Leave a Reply

