MY COUNTRY IS NOT A LOST CAUSE!

To all those who think Pakistan is a hopeless case, and not at all worth fighting for, I assure you, it is not! It is our country. achieved after a long period of struggle on part of our ancestors. After loss of millions, we gained this country. A separate islamic state, which was well worth the fight. And it still is. You might not agree, but why do you not look underneath the bomb blasts and the corruption? Why do you not see the country for what it is, instead of seeing its people for what they’ve become??

Why, oh why, do we insist on seeing only the bad, and not the good? Why is the good always veiled by the bad?… 😥

The state of our country indeed is bad, much more than bad. No need to state the situation here, we all know. And deep down, we all know the reasons too. No need to state those either. But we should try to end the problems from the root, and not just pick on the branches.

For now, let’s try to see why Pakistan is not a hopeless case.

  •  First reason; it still has a majority of hopeful people. There are people who still are trying, and can bring change. A good change. A revolutionary change. We need to give them time. Or better yet, join them, become one of them, and stop complaining about how insecure and corrupt the country is. If we’re not helping, we have no right to whine. And if we are trying to help, the we should have no reason, nor time to complain.
  • Second reason; Do you not see all other powers fighting for “our country”???? Pakistan is our country! Blessed with all resources. It has every mineral, every rock of value, every resource a country could want or need. They only need to be dug out. By the right people. And then to be used in the right way. All it needs is a strong fight… like that of  ’47 and ’65. All we need is a lot of faith… That will give us the strength, the confidence, the wisdom, and the opportunities that we need. That will give us the best force we can ask for…
  • Third reason; A cause is lost only when a positive end can not be envisioned. In fact, not even then. There may be light in the darkness. A cause is never lost….  It only dies with the people within whom it lives, I think.
  • Fourth reason, and a million more reasons; The struggle of our ancestors was not for nothing. If they still struggled after losing so much in 1857, and finally achieved that which seemed impossible, after nearly a hundred years, in 1947, then can we not do the same?… If that is so, then it is not the country that is a lost cause, but us. Pakistan is a country with a purpose. It is a country created in the name of our Creator. He will not let it burn to ashes.

But it has to get pitch dark, before a ray of light can show…

17 thoughts on “MY COUNTRY IS NOT A LOST CAUSE!

      • Fellow Pakistani, no amidst all the issues and problems that our Pakistan has, it is not a lost cause– how could it be when it has great people like you and millions others trying to work hard to put things right and rebuild it again.

      • For every one wrong doing, there are 10 amazing Pakistanis fixing/struggling and fighting to improve.. The world may not see nor acknowledge, we no care. Aag hamare ghar mai lage hai, isko bujhaba hamara kam hai.
        We will do it, if not today then tomorrow. Keep blogging and keep writing, your spirit is commendable and admirable.

  1. I really do appreciate reading your words here. I feel like a truly “ignorant American” sometimes, only seeing what the media has to provide for us on news around the world…I think it’s awesome that we can get some perspective just by reading someone’s firsthand experiences living there every day. 🙂 thanks for writing this.

  2. Thank you. Yes, it really is a wonderful way… We shouldn’t just believe all that the media shows us. A look inside can give us the real reality. The good and the bad, both. not one veiled by the other….
    Thankyou for stopping by 😉

  3. I too ache for Pakistan and I am also sure that someday its people (though certainly not its politicians) will pull it out of the morass and into the light.

    But I must admit that deep in my heart I wish there was no Pakistan. I wish that Iqbal and Jinnah had held onto their original vision of a unified subcontinent with a place for every religion and every aspiration.

    It could have worked. It could have been made to work. Partition was not the botched separation of Siamese twins, it was the cleaving of one people into two bleeding halves.

    Hindu culture and subcontinental Muslim culture are only as beautiful as they are because each was touched by the other. And their offspring, the Sikhs, torn asunder by a process in which they had no stake and no part.

    When I hear Indians singing Tarana-e-Hind I want to cry for what might have been. When I was stopped at the Punjab border in the 1980s because of idiots playing soldiers in the Thar desert I wanted to scream with frustration. And when I read your blog and those you link to, full of the love of Pakistan’s people for their homeland, I am filled with regret that I never got there and now probably never will.

    Sometimes I think your country has been cursed by the hubris of its own name. Nothing human beings do is ever truly paki, certainly nothing politicians do. They aimed so high, they struck so low.

    I hope I haven’t caused offence through my ignorance or insensitivity.
    I was only trying to say what is in my heart.

    • You certainly have not caused any offense. It is always good to say what is.
      I agree with you on a few points, but that too, only to some extent. Like the fact that “Hindu culture and subcontinental Muslim culture are only as beautiful as they are because each was touched by the other.” It’s true, but not entirely. I mean, have you seen Turkish architecture? Anyhow, it would be fair to say that everything is only as beautiful as it is, because it has been touched by another.
      I also agree with what you said about the country’s name… I’ve never thought of that. And it could be true.
      But I strongly disagree with your wish about the subcontinent. That it shouldn’t ever have been separated. It couldn’t have worked, and it never was supposed to. They were never one. Ever. Hindus and Muslims couldn’t be one. The religious, social, cultural, philosophical differences were and are too vast. It couldn’t have worked for any longer. If you’ve studied the period before and after the war of 1857, and then the facts and stories of partition, and the whole scenario of distress before partition… You’ll understand this. And of course, if you study the vast differences between the two people, it’ll become all too clear, especially the religious differences. Jinnah, Iqbal and Sir Syed gave up all hopes for a unified nation for plain and valid reasons…
      I’m extremely sorry you never got to see Pakistan.. Most parts of it are worth seeing. Not just the geography, but the culture, the people, the routines.
      Try to visit again, maybe? 😉

      • I certainly defer to your experience and knowledge.

        My own is superficial and romanticised in a way that can only be held by an outsider. My trivial understanding of the 1857 revolution was that it was one in which Muslims and Hindus alike rose up against the British occupiers.

        When you say Hindus and Muslims were never one, I think of the reign of Akbar – and regret that of Aurangzeb.

        The rise of Hindutva and the BJP in India during my own time there certainly lends weight to your claim that dreams of subcontinental unity were nothing more that. Dreams.

        But during my time in India I made several Muslim friends. Even though relationships between the communities were souring, some of them were absolutely insistent that they were Indians, not just Muslims. None expressed a desire to go to Pakistan or Bangladesh.

        Even in Gujarat, a hotbed of anti-Muslim violence, and old Muslim man who maintained a disused mosque in a cave near Ahmedabad waxed lyrical to me of his love of India and his certainty that the then very recent and serious intercommunal violence in that city was the work of a tiny minority of troublemakers who would soon be brought into line by the joint efforts of the majority from both communities.

        In Trivandrum I saw exactly that happen when BJP student groups tried to stir up trouble on campus.

        In 1987 I tried to sneak into the testing grounds near Pokharan, thinking I would see a massive crater there (I only found out later the test had been underground). I was caught by the Indian army and forced to drink chai, eat biscuits and discuss cricket for several hours before they drove me back to town (it should be against the Geneva convention ;)).

        When I think about what I was going to see and what is all too possible in the future it is very hard for me to believe that Partition was for the best. It’s not as if putting a national border between Indians and Pakistanis ever eliminated the distress they cause each other.

      • Wow, you certainly know a lot! 🙂
        You’re right about the reign of Akbar and Aurangzeb though.. I was thinking of it too while typing the previous reply.
        My point is, that even if some Muslims don’t mind it, living with the Hindus for that long a period has greatly influenced our religious concepts. I can still see it’s traces today in Pakistan. That is mainly why we wanted Pakistan… So we could practice religion better. Not that we were able to make much use of it, but still. The basis of partition was our religion. If we wanted to keep our faiths and to practice it freely, Pakistan had become compulsory. What do you think would’ve become of the Muslims of the Subcontinent had Pakistan not been created?… The picture does not look pretty.
        And about the war of 57, did you also know that the Hindus refused to have taken much part in it after the war, in front of the British? Just saying..

  4. What do you think would’ve become of the Muslims of the Subcontinent had Pakistan not been created?

    If you mean the eventual submersion of Islamic beliefs and culture in the water of the Ganges, yes. India seems to do that to everyone eventually.

    Islam in India is terribly caste ridden.
    Has that been eliminated in Pakistan yet?

    In the end Akbar himself had almost abandoned Islam for a syncretic religion he created with the assistance of his Sufi and Hindu gurus.

    I must admit that desire for religious purity is something I have only ever seen from the outside and never felt myself. But I’ve never been able to find a personal creator being who would want such a thing, so of course I’m blind to it.

    I’m currently working on a post in which I try to explain how the pre-Islamic ‘superstitions’ still practiced by Muslims in Malaysia taught me something important about what I believe reality to be.

    (A joke I heard in India –

    Gandhi: “I am Hindu, I am Muslim, I am Christian, I am Sikh, I am Buddhist, I am Parsi, I am Jain”

    Jinnah: “Only a bloody Hindu would say that”)

    If you are talking about Hindu-Muslim violence and even genocide, I am far from certain. The RSS got a huge boost from the creation of Pakistan. I wonder if the BJP would exist today were it not for the Indo-Pak wars.

    And about the war of 57, did you also know that the Hindus refused to have taken much part in it after the war, in front of the British?

    I did know that some Hindu units (and just about all the Sikh ones) betrayed their countrymen and stayed loyal to the Raj and that Marathis and Mughals turned on each other and probably doomed the rebellion, but I can see that I need to read more about 1857.

    Wow, you certainly know a lot!

    I truly love the subcontinent and its people Moniba.
    I have spent almost five years in India all up – more than in any other country other than Australia.

    I have never been to Europe or North America and have no desire to.

    But right now I am aching to see Pakistan.

    One price I paid for my bipolar was the destruction of my IT contracting business (though I doubt I could have built it up in the first place without the creativity and energy my bipolar gave me). I am now on a disability pension. Since last October I have been much improved and hope to re-enter the workforce soon, but I would be kidding myself if I thought I would ever make anything like $150 an hour again.

    And my physical health sure isn’t what it was when I was lugging a backpack all over Asia.

    So I think my travelling days are over.

    • I ache for purity… And I can confidently say that I’ve found the Creator.
      Your knowledge is much greater than mine, so I do not think i’m in any position to argue anymore.
      I can see that your love for and interest in the subcontinent is far greater than some who actually belong to the subcontinent.
      I hope you do get to see Pakistan, one way or another. And that your health allows you to.
      I know you do not regret the bipolar, but I am sorry about the price you had to pay for it.
      With hopes for the best.

      • Your knowledge is much greater than mine, so I do not think i’m in any position to argue anymore.

        I hope you don’t believe that deep down.

        We have both lived the lives we have been given thus far. To say one is more knowledgeable than the other simply because of an accumulation of facts – mostly book learning – is to deny the importance of lived experience.

        I have never raised a child. I have never found a Creator. You have a vast body of knowledge denied me. To call mine ‘greater’ …

        I did not feel I was arguing, but that I was showing something of myself to someone I have learned great respect for. I felt it was being reciprocated in that spirit.

        Having slept on our exchange, I now realise that many of my feelings about Partition are projections of my own fears.

        As with all countries, Australia is stained with racism. It is even written into our constitution.

        My people – the Cabrogal – were one of the first tribes to come into contact with the British and were almost completely wiped out. Our Lands are now under the cement of suburban Sydney, our People scattered, our language gone, our culture destroyed.

        Nonetheless I am proud that Australia has made multiculturalism work – perhaps better than anywhere else in the world. It came too late for us – it still doesn’t really extend to the First People – but when I walk down the street and see people of all colours and costumes working and playing together as if it were the most natural thing in the world my heart is filled with pride and joy.

        But when I hear my countrymen vilifying Muslims in the aftermath of 9/11 and the Bali bombings I am terrified of where we may be heading.

        I cannot allow my country to be divided into Bantustans like apartheid South Africa, to find a ‘two state solution’ like that sought in Israel/Palestine, to be shattered like the former Yugoslavia, to be rent asunder like the subcontinent.

        I utterly reject that answer for my nation.

        But in doing so I have also rejected the one chosen by those whose problems I cannot begin to imagine. Chosen by people like Iqbal and Jinnah whose wisdom so exceeds my own (I know nothing of Syed’s path to embracing Partition).

        Please accept my apologies for my own hubris.
        Accumulating facts sometimes just makes it easier to fool yourself.

      • I wish the best for Australia then..
        I always wondered what cabrogal was. And now I know.
        And you’re right, this wasn’t an argument. I just couldn’t think of a better word. No need for an apology.
        You know, for someone who ponders upon the facts and realities so much… I’m surprised you haven’t studied Islam in depth. And if you have, then I’m surprised you didn’t find it worthwhile. Sorry if that seemed too blunt. But I seriously wonder.

      • I have my English language Koran – if there can be such a thing – on my bookshelf. I would be lying if I said I’d read more than half (though I’m tempted to say I’ve memorised all of it ;)), but for a few years I dipped into it often.

        I’ve discussed Islam with Muslim friends, read explanations of points and generalities of Islamic belief in articles and essays – most of it probably wrong.

        Just the usual stuff for a curious non-Muslim I guess.

        What I really love is impure Islam.
        The sufis and devotional artists and musicians.

        But no, I’ve never really been able to give any of the Abrahamic (Ibrahimic?) religions proper consideration.

        I’ve just never felt or experienced anything that seems remotely like their God to me.

        Yeah, I can see that the Sufis find their Allah in the same place and looking very similar to where I find something very important. Ditto with Christian mystics (I don’t know enough about Jewish mysticism to say). But its just not Allah, Jahweh, Jehovah or even the Goddess to me.

        I think the same thing is being brought into conceptual space via different frameworks, so in ‘reality’ it is a different thing. I don’t think there is meaning to the statement “All gods are the same” because from the only perspective in which it is true, all things are the same.

        What the Sufis call Allah is both outside us and one with us and fills the universe. As soon as you start dividing Him up even with thoughts, much less words, you lose Him.

        What I get from the holy books though, is something distant and dry and – ***blasphemy warning*** – not very appealing. It does not ring true in my head or my heart.

        But hey, that means nothing to you, does it?
        You found Allah in a very different way through a set of perspectives, experiences and practices very different to mine, right?

        If you have any posts that you think offer insight into that I would appreciate reading them.
        But please don’t expect me to understand them.

Leave a Reply

