So much, so long.

They told me they were coming,
I got excited, became happy.

I turned on the stoves.
And put out the good plates.

Then waited and waited,
And waited and waited…

I turned off the stoves,
And set in the plates.

But hope lingered, and
I kept waiting…

They did show up,
But it was too late,
And i had slept.

So they went back,
To come back again…

After making me wait,
So much, so long…

Note: This was written today when I was waiting for some relatives to arrive, very eagerly, and was the informed that they weren’t coming….after having prepared so much for their arrival.

9 thoughts on “So much, so long.

  1. You took a moment in life and made it into a nice poem. Although you faced disappointment, you turned it into something – a poem. Perhaps it’s not so bad after all 😉

Leave a Reply

