A new ending

Things can be changed. I learned it truly just yesterday. I mean, of course I knew things can be changed! If I draw a line meant to be straight but in fact not so straight, I can always use an eraser and take a second attempt at it. If I draw a circle that looks like a curved square, I can change that. But what if I make a promise, and fail to keep it? What if it creates a huge hole in my life? Yes, an unkept promise can do that. I never thought I could change that. What if I make a mistake and lose the one friend I thought I’d never have to lie to, the one friend I thought I’d always have and trust, the one friend I loved more than all others… Can that be changed? Guess what? It can. But the mistake we all make at this point, is thinking ” Oh, if only I could turn time back and change that, if only that hadn’t happened, if only I hadn’t been that stupid…” News flash! You can’t change what has happened, you can’t turn time back. Here’s something we can do; change the present. What has happened can’t be changed, but how it ended can be changed. Just like we can’t change how we fist made the imperfect circle, but we can change it, and make it perfect.

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” -Maria Robinson

3 thoughts on “A new ending

  1. You can’t change what’s burnt. and some times humans get burnt too. but thing about today is spot on, people regret so much about past and plan so much for their future that they forget the present.

Leave a Reply

